58 – Giving up on KOTOR; Jade Empire and about 30 other games I’m playing

I have given up on KOTOR.

After much wrangling and finagling, I was able to get the damn thing to run vaguely reliably: In only 800×600 resolution, of course, and I was able to have the game maximized, and have it puttering along. Unfortunately, movie sequences required a resolution change, which crashed the game. An option to disable movies also crashed the game. And so my solution became to be to play the game in fullscreen, saving very often, getting to a movie, restarting the game in windowed mode, watching the movie, then maximizing.

One segment, however, involved several cutscenes and movies after a boss battle, and then an immediate cut to a turret sequence, which I immediately died on, and the most recent save file was right before the boss fight. And you know something, I just don’t have the fucking heart to try it again. It’s not KOTOR’s fault that it’s not working on my system, but I still don’t want to deal with how temperamental it is.

I have, in the meantime, been advised that KOTOR II is somewhat better and fine to jump straight into, and that KOTOR II is an even buggier mess that I should stay as far away from as possible.

So I have ended up playing Jade Empire, which I’ve played before and, after a few false starts, ended up loving. In a move which suggests Amanda Lange is right, as usual, I’m playing an evil–er, “Closed Fist”–character, which is a little harder than it seems. Partially it’s because there’s a lot of useful stuff for doing the Good–Open Palm–path, like it looks like more quests go to XP-giving completion–but partially it’s because you really do end up acting like a money-grubbing asshole. In true Bioware tradition, it isn’t quite good and evil, in theory, and the game does stress that it’s competing philosophies of motive rather than of end results: You can sabotage the dam because you’re being paid to, or because the resulting crisis will make the town stronger. But either way, the dam gets destroyed.

Of course, it’s still the early stages of the game: Right now you’re dealing with town disputes and local events, but by the end you’re given the opportunity to slay gods and bind souls, which come to think of it, the game does seem to pan out from the local to the celestial if I remember correctly. In terms of scope, I remember the first two chapters–I’m in chapter two at the moment–being the most open and sprawling, a bit in chapter 3 as well, and then the game becomes progressively linear. I don’t remember that being a bad thing: It’s, frankly, Just Enough Game–my final save file for my previous game is about 20 hours and I’ll probably end this a little closer to 15 or so. There’s been a lot of really long games I haven’t had the heart to finish lately so it’ll be nice to have something quick.

In terms of smaller games, I dug Andrew Shouldice’s Ludum Dare entry Our God Lives Underground, which is a very linear exploration game that I think totally nailed it–it’s basically a five minute trip somewhere claustrophobic, with a few very eerie moments. I had one of those nights last night where I was poking around the more avant corners o the exploration game scene. It’s a genre I always want to like–I love game environments–but I find so many of them to be…way too ponderous. It’s the walking speed, maybe. I’m a very fast walker in real life, and I hate when games walk slower than I do. Maybe it’s just my sense of aesthetics–like I always thought Proteus was extraordinarily ugly–or, I don’t know, I mean these things can get so goddamn pretentious sometimes, you know? OGLU is this streamlined, five-minute experience that more or less hits from the moment it begins, does what it does very intensely, and ends at the exact right moment.

Actually, I also ended up playing 9.03m thanks to indiegamestand, and I can’t say I necessarily liked 9.03m, because memento moris filled with somber piano music aren’t really my thing. But given the game’s subject matter–the victims of the Tsunami in Japan–I mean, it’s a very good memento mori filled with somber piano music. It’s really pretty to look at, and if I wasn’t exactly Overcome with Emotion from it, I Admire Its Technique.

But the reason I got 9.03 was as a tie-in for Space Budgie’s new game Glitchspace, which is goddamn wonderful–and apparently only in Alpha, which surprises me because, the bit I’ve played of it, at least, seems fairly well-done. Having done exactly no research on this–having literally found out it’s in alpha just this moment–I’m not sure how much is left, if this is just a couple of levels that I’ve got or what. But it’s a very…soothing puzzle game. Everything is just blocks and calm. The main gimmick is the ability to “reprogram” objects–each has logic behind it and you have to arrange things like “Collisions: False” to allow you to walk through walls, things like that. Um, I’m explaining it poorly, but I liked it. That it’s in alpha makes me worry they’re going to add a storyline to it, and the last thing I want for this game is to have a wisecracking narrator. Given that 9.03m made the very wise decision to exclude narration, I think I trust it.

One thought on “58 – Giving up on KOTOR; Jade Empire and about 30 other games I’m playing

Leave a Reply

