74 – Come to Bag by PaperBlurt

I totally dropped the ball about writing about this because I’m a lazy fuck, but PaperBlurt–who was responsible for the visual design of TWEEZER and Zest–has released a new work called Come to Bag.

Come to Bag is a “cacaphony”–it’s a collection of a bunch of short pieces. If you know Blurt’s style, they’re all of a piece and show off his range–there’s some really nicely eerie stuff, some shaggy dog stories, some experiments–16 stories in all. My particular dog in this race was the writing of the story A Big Fuck You, which is based on a joke my dad made up when I was a little kid.

If you’re interested in some of Blurt’s other work, and I hope you are, I think Capsule is one of his more popular works (and for good reason!), but my personal favorite is The Sadness of Rocky Barbato. I’ve never been able to get the latter’s final image out of my head; I think it might qualify one of the best endings in Twine.

While I’ve got you here–I’m working on a digital boardgame and I’m scouting a team. If you’re an artist who can help me make a game that looks like the team behind Fantastic Planet doing a movie based on a Dr. Seuss screenplay, or you’re interested in helping design the ruleset for a digital board game with ties to Talisman or Suspended, then come at me, bro. I’m looking for people in the same boat as myself–who’ve made a couple of minor things and are looking for a bigger project that we can sell for a buck or two and get the cred we need in order to be able to Kickstart the *next* project.

Leave a Reply

